Ellis Jenkins returns to the international as Wayne Pivac names Wales autumn squad

Posted by

Cardiff flanker Ellis Jenkins is back in a Wales squad for the first time in three years having been named by Wayne Pivac as one of 38-men to represent the national team this autumn.

The 28-year-old tore his anterior cruciate ligament back in December 2018 playing for his country against South Africa and would not return to action until February 2021 after complications with his recovery and rehabilitation, but having started two of the opening three Blue and Blacks games of the season he has proven his fitness and form to the coaches.

Jenkins is one of 10 Cardiff players named in the squad, with Rhys Carre returning to the loosehead prop corps after missing out in the summer, while Dillon Lewis is included with the tightheads. Seb Davies could be included for the first time since last autumn, but there is no room for either Matthew Screech or Josh Turnbull.

Tomos Williams and Rhys Priestland are selected among the half-backs, with Priestland involved for the first time since November 2017 after his summer return from Bath, Uilisi Halaholo and Ben Thomas get the nod in the centres, and Owen Lane and Josh Adams are both back three options, but Lloyd Williams, Jarrod Evans and Hallam Amos all miss out.

Elsewhere in the squad Wyn Jones, Ken Owens, Alun Wyn Jones, Adam Beard, Taulupe Faletau, Gareth Davies, Dan Biggar, Louis Rees-Zammit and Liam Williams are all back alongside Adams having represented the British & Irish Lions over the summer.

Former Cardiff age grade forward Christ Tshiunza could make his debut having featured for Exeter in the Gallagher Premiership this season, former Blue and Blacks fly-half Gareth Anscombe is included after returning from two years out with an ACL tear, while Thomas Young is recalled after Pivac received special dispensation to pick the flanker ahead of his return to the Arms Park next summer.

Wales squad

Forwards: Wyn Jones, Rhodri Jones, Rhys Carre, Ken Owens, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Tomas Francis, WillGriff John, Dillon Lewis, Alun Wyn Jones (c), Adam Beard, Will Rowlands, Ben Carter, Seb Davies, Christ Tshiunza, Ross Moriarty, Aaron Wainwright, Taine Basham, Taulupe Faletau, Thomas Young, Ellis Jenkins

Backs: Tomos Williams, Gareth Davies, Kieran Hardy, Gareth Anscombe, Rhys Priestland, Dan Biggar, Callum Sheedy, Uilisi Halaholo, Ben Thomas, Johnny Williams, Nick Tompkins, Jon Davies, Josh Adams, Owen Lane, Louis Rees-Zammit, Johnny McNicholl, Liam Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s