Eight Cardiff Blues Women retain their Wales places

Posted by

The Wales Women squad for the final game of the 2020 Six Nations against Scotland has been anounced by interim Head Coach Darren Edwards, who moves across from the currently disbanded Wales Men’s Sevens setup.

All eight players who played for Cardiff Blues in the 2019 Women’s Regional Championship have retained their places, as only four changes are made to the squad of 35 with Shona Powell-Hughes, Caryl Thomas and Alecs Donovan returning, while Laura Bleehen receives a first call-up.

Cerys Hale, Manon Johnes, Georgia Evans and Abbie Fleming are the Cardiff Blues representatives in the forwards, while Megan Webb, Hannah Bluck, Paige Randall and Robyn Wilkins take their spots among the backs.

There is also a selection for Kelsey Jones who plays for the Ospreys but works as the Disability and Inclusion Officer for the Cardiff Blues Community Foundation.

The squad will train at Swansea University ahead of the game against Scotland on the weekend of the 31st October, knowing that a win is required to give them a chance of avoiding the wooden spoon after four losses back in February and March.

Wales Women squad for rescheduled Scotland Six Nations match

Forwards: Laura Bleehen (uncapped), Alisha Butchers, Alex Callender, Gwen Crabb, Georgia Evans, Abbie Fleming, Cerys Hale, Cara Hope, Natalia John, Manon Johnes, Kelsey Jones, Molly Kelly, Bethan Lewis, Siwan Lillicrap, Robyn Lock, Shona Powell-Hughes, Gwenllian Pyrs, Caryl Thomas

Backs: Keira Bevan, Hannah Bluck, Alecs Donovan, Lleucu George, Hannah Jones, Jasmine Joyce, Courtney Keight, Kerin Lake, Caitlin Lewis, Ffion Lewis, Lisa Neumann, Kayleigh Powell, Paige Randall, Lauren Smyth, Elinor Snowsill, Megan Webb, Robyn Wilkins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s