Would-be Cardiff Blues U16 Combined and Development squads

Posted by

Ahead of the Coronavirus outbreak, Cardiff Blues announced the U16 Combined and Development squads that would have played at the end of the 2019/20 season.

It was a successful campaign for the split South and North sides in the Regional Age Grade Championships, finishing third and fifth respectively with just a point separating them in the final standings.

They would then have joined forces with the Combined side set to be led by Cardiff Blues U18 coach Craig Everett, while the Development squad would have been led by Chad Mutyambizi.

Everett was set to be joined by Cardiff Blues first team squad members Dan Fish (attack), Garyn Smith (defence) and Scott Andrews (forwards) on his coaching ticket, while Mutyambizi would have been assisted by former players Justin Thomas (backs) and Nathan Trevett (scrum), while the Community Foundation’s Dan Parry (skills) and WRU Hub Officer Keri Lovell (forwards) were also set to be involved.

The Combined squad in particular had a heavy influence from last season’s Dewar Shield winning Cardiff Schools squad with 13 of the 30 having been involved in that success, while a further 11 were named in the Development squad.

Cardiff Blues U16 Combined squad

Forwards: Daniel Heselton, Kai Carnell, Jack Lock, Evan Addis, Sam James, Callum Dawe, Samuel Sully, Thomas Caple, Garin Enoch, Liam Jones, Dewi Hobbs, Zachary Mutyambizi, Kian Evans, Harper Chamberlain, McKenzie Martin, Casey Williams, Iwan Coyle

Backs: Chad Powell, Finlay Charles, Orson James, Morgan Wyn Bowen, Louie Hennessey, Harrison James, Ty Lewis, Dylan Williams, Ben Moon, Dafydd Walsh, Osian Coates, Jack Davies, Jacob Symes

Cardiff Blues U16 Development squad

Forwards: Luke Bennett, Lewis Walsh, Will Fyfe, Edward Hogan, Owen Williams, Tom Connolly, Hans Nel, Taine Avey, Kian Mattervers, JJ Lynn, Rian Mason Jenkins, Josh Lee, Kieron Heatlie, Josh Bosley, Rhys Burleton, Isaac LaRoche, Rhys Ford, Sam Godfrey, Blake Griffiths, Josh Hanmer, Josh Edwards, Josh Hughes, Gruff Lloyd, Woody Facey, Evan Jones

Backs: Osian Phillips, Cody Eltringham, Jaydon Lewis, Jack Roberts, Sam Harris, Aston Warhurst, Jayde Williams-Witney, Euan Phillips, Owen Yeoman, Joe Pearce, Kian Jacobs, Callum Cox, Ioan Evans, Rio Davies, Thomas Edwards, Ben Newton, Jack Grant, Ioan Rhys-Thomas, Owen Richards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s