Amos returns as Mulvihill names Cardiff Blues side to face Connacht

Posted by

Cardiff Blues head coach John Mulvihill has welcomed back Hallam Amos to his starting XV as the Guinness Pro14 gets back underway with a trip to Galway to face Connacht, kick-off 7.35pm.

The back three player has been out of action since picking up an ankle injury ahead of the Leicester game last month, but is back to fitness and selected to start on the wing at the Sportsground.

He forms part of a somewhat thrown together back three as Jason Harries starts on the wing opposite him, returning to Connacht for the first time since his perfectly good try was ruled out by the Irish TMO last season.

Dan Fish completes the back three at full-back, making his first appearance at the Sportsground since suffering a horror hamstring injury there in November 2016 that ruled him out for effectively 18 months.

In the centres Garyn Smith retains his place alongside Rey Lee-Lo, while Lloyd Williams and Jason Tovey form an expected half-back partnership, with Lloyd captaining the side from scrum-half.

Up front Rhys Gill gets the nod to start at loosehead with Liam Belcher and Dmitri Arhip completing the front row, while Filo Paulo and James Ratti form the second row partnership.

Josh Turnbull returns to the side on the blindside flank, with Olly Robinson and Will Boyde completing the back row as new signing Sam Moore continues to overcome an injury.

On the bench there is a return to action for Kris Dacey, who joins Corey Domachowski and Scott Andrews at the replacement front row, Seb Davies backs up the second row having been released by the Wales squad and Nick Williams covers the back row.

Lewis Jones is the back-up scrum-half, Ben Thomas will cover the midfield and Ryan Edwards could make his second debut on the wing after signing on loan again from Bristol.

Cardiff Blues: Dan Fish, Jason Harries, Rey Lee-Lo, Garyn Smith, Hallam Amos, Jason Tovey, Lloyd Williams (c); Rhys Gill, Liam Belcher, Dmitri Arhip, Filo Paulo, James Ratti, Josh Turnbull, Olly Robinson, Will Boyde

Replacements: Kris Dacey, Corey Domachowski, Scott Andrews, Seb Davies, Nick Williams, Lewis Jones, Ben Thomas, Ryan Edwards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s