Changes up front as Cardiff RFC head to Llandovery

Posted by

There are five changes to the Cardiff RFC pack that beat Merthyr last week as the Blue and Blacks look to keep the winning run going away at Llandovery.

Injuries and unavailability mean that Peter Lloyd, Evan Yardley and Callum Bradbury are all unable to make the trip to Church Bank on Saturday, while Thomas Davies and James Thomas are dropped to the bench as tactical changes.

In their place Brynley Toms returns to start at loosehead, Iestyn Harris will make his first Cardiff RFC start at hooker and Ollie Drake gets the nod at tighthead. There is a timely return to fitness for Kieran Martin who makes his first start of the season at lock, while Zach O’Driscoll starts for the first time since the 1st November on the openside.

There is just one change in the back division as Jason Harries drops down from the Cardiff Blues setup to play on the wing, with Joe Gatt not included in the squad.

Hugo Souto and Lloyd Pike return to the 23 on the replacements bench where they are joined by former Bedwas prop Matthew Pettit who comes out of retirement at the request of Steve Law to help cover tighthead.

Cardiff Blues players Ethan Lloyd and Ioan Davies are also included as scrum-half and back three cover, respectively.

Cardiff RFC: Edd Howley, Teri Gee, Leon Andrews, Max Llewellyn, Jason Harries, Gareth Thompson, Tom Habberfield; Brynley Toms, Iestyn Harris, Ollie Drake, Sam Pailor, Kieran Martin, Alex Everett, Zach O’Driscoll, Morgan Allen (c)

Replacements: Hugo Souto, Thomas Davies, Matthew Pettit, Lloyd Pike, James Thomas, Ethan Lloyd, Joe Scrivens, Ioan Davies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s