Lee-Lo hits 100 as Adams makes his debut for Cardiff Blues against Pau

Posted by

Rey Lee-Lo will make his 100th Cardiff Blues appearance and Josh Adams will make his debut as Pau are welcomed to the Arms Park on Saturday night, 7.45pm kick-off.

The European Challenge Cup returns this week after the win over Benetton in the Guinness Pro14 last Saturday, and Mulvihill has been able to call on Adams and Tomos Williams after both were given time off after playing at the Rugby World Cup in Japan before facing the Barbarians last week.

Owen Lane was also involved in that game at the Principality Stadium last week and is another of eight changes made to the starting XV that won out in Italy in dramatic fashion.

Up front Rhys Gill will make his first start of the season with Brad Thyer having picked up a knock against Benetton and Corey Domachowski only just returning from injury to back him up off the bench.

There are two new faces in the back row as Shane Lewis-Hughes starts after featuring off the bench last week and Olly Robinson returns from injury. They will play on the flank either side of Will Boyde who captains Cardiff Blues for the first time.

To facilitate that Josh Turnbull moves up to second row alongside James Ratti with Macauley Cook dropping to the bench and James Botham not involved having departed the scene early with an ankle injury last week.

A new half-back combination sees Tomos join Jarrod Evans, who also faced the Barbarians last week, while Ben Thomas makes his full Cardiff Blues debut with a long awaited selection at inside centre.

Lee-Lo plays his 100th game at outside centre while Lane and Adams form a new wing combination either side of Matthew Morgan as Aled Summerhill is ruled out with a groin issue and Hallam Amos drops to the bench.

Ethan Lewis, Keiron Assiratti, Alun Lawrence, Lloyd Williams and Jason Tovey complete the replacements, with Dillon Lewis (hamstring) and Seb Davies (knee) not considered after picking up injuries in that Wales game last Saturday.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan, Owen Lane, Rey Lee-Lo, Ben Thomas, Josh Adams, Jarrod Evans, Tomos Williams; Rhys Gill, Kirby Myhill, Scott Andrews, James Ratti, Josh Turnbull, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Olly Robinson, Will Boyde (c)

Replacements: Ethan Lewis, Corey Domachowski, Keiron Assiratti, Macauley Cook, Alun Lawrence, Lloyd Williams, Jason Tovey, Hallam Amos

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s