John Mulvihill names first Cardiff Blues team of the season

Posted by

Cardiff Blues return to competitive action this weekend with John Mulvihill naming his side to take on Southern Kings at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth.

Nick Williams will captain the side, and is joined in the back row by Josh Turnbull and Olly Robinson, who will make his 50th Cardiff Blues appearance since joining from Bristol during the 2017/18 campaign.

In front of them Seb Davies and Rory Thornton form the second row partnership, while Dmitri Arhip provides an experienced anchor in the scrum next to the inexperience of Liam Belcher and Brad Thyer.

At half-back Lloyd Williams starts despite having not featured during pre-season because of injury, while Jarrod Evans joins him after not making the final 31-man Wales squad for the Rugby World Cup.

Garyn Smith partners Willis Halaholo in the centre, while Aled Summerhill, Jason Harries and Matthew Morgan form the back three, with no reason given around why Owen Lane has not travelled with the squad to South Africa.

On the bench Corey Domachowski, Kris Dacey and Scott Andrews cover the front row, while Shane Lewis-Hughes and potential debutant Will Boyde came come on in the back row, with Turnbull stepping in at lock of required.

Lewis Jones is scrum-half cover, while Jason Tovey could make his second Cardiff Blues debut if called upon at fly-half. Harri Millard will cover the outside backs.

A strong team named by Mulvihill, with an ideal average age of 26, and an even more impressive average of 60 Cardiff Blues appearances per player, with many having played plenty more times at other clubs.

The game kicks off at 3pm UK time, and will be shown live on Premier Sports 2, and in the Arms Park Clubhouse.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan, Jason Harries, Garyn Smith, Willis Halaholo, Aled Summerhill, Jarrod Evans, Lloyd Williams; Brad Thyer, Liam Belcher, Dmitri Arhip, Seb Davies, Rory Thornton, Josh Turnbull, Olly Robinson, Nick Williams (c)

Replacements: Kris Dacey, Corey Domachowski, Scott Andrews, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Will Boyde, Lewis Jones, Jason Tovey, Harri Millard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s