Cardiff Blues A turn to the U18s ahead of Ospreys trip

Posted by

Cardiff Blues A are much changed again as they travel to Bridgend’s Brewery Field to take on Ospreys Development in round four of the Celtic Cup.

Following on from the first two weeks of the competition, which saw largely Indigo Group Premiership players from Cardiff RFC, Pontypridd and Merthyr involved, round three was effectively a pre-season friendly, as first team players and promising youngsters combined to beat Dragons A at the Arms Park.

With the first team heading to Bedford Blues this Saturday though, and the Premiership teams in Specsavers Cup round one action, head coaches Gethin Jenkins and T Rhys Thomas have combined the remaining Academy players with Cardiff Blues U18 stars of the future.

The team will be led by one of two senior squad members named, Macauley Cook, who packs down in the second row behind Ethan Lewis at hooker. They are joined in the tight five by Will Davies-King and Teddy Williams from the Academy.

James Botham in the back row, fly-half Rhys Davies and winger Alex Varney are all also Academy players, while Cardiff Met 1st XV captain Aled Ward, Tim Grey on a short term contract from RGC, Josh Male of Glamorgan Wanderers and Wales 7s Dafydd Smith are all included, with the rest of the starting XV all part of the Cardiff Blues U18 squad.

There are further Cardiff Blues Academy players on the bench, with Cam Lewis and Ben Warren preparing to make an impact, while Gwilym Bradley is from the Wales Exiles Programme, Zach Bartlett is from Cardiff Harlequins, Dylan Williams is selected from Bedlinog and Freddie Barnes is part of the Cardiff Uni 1st XV squad.

Both Rhys Anstey and Theo Cabango are Cardiff Blues U18s and were in the squad that lost to Ospreys U18 earlier in the week.

Kick-off is 7.15pm in Bridgend, with Cardiff Blues A looking to build on the bonus point win over the Dragons and work their way up the Celtic Cup table.

Cardiff Blues A: Jacob Beetham, Dafydd Smith, Mason Grady, Josh Male, Alex Varney, Rhys Davies, Ethan Lloyd; Theo Bevacqua, Ethan Lewis, Will Davies King, Teddy Williams, Macauley Cook (c), Aled Ward, James Botham, Tim Grey

Replacements: Cameron Lewis, Freddie Barnes, Ben Warren, Rhys Anstey, Gwilym Bradley, Zak Bartlett, Theo Cabango, Dylan Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s