Wales U20 squad named for Junior World Championship

Posted by

Wales U20 head coach Gareth Williams has named his squad for this summer’s Junior World Championships being held in Argentina.

There are four Cardiff Blues representatives, with tighthead prop Ben Warren, second row Teddy Williams, centre Max Llewelyn and full-back Ioan Davies all named in the 28-man travelling party.

The big news is that Dragons back-rower Taine Basham is ruled out with a hand injury picked up at Judgement Day, leaving the side without his 12-cap U20 experience and 14-game Pro14 experience.

Experience does come in the form of Ryan Conbeer, Tomi Lewis and Rio Dyer, who have all played in the HSBC World Sevens Series this season, while Dewi Lake captains the side from hooker after earning rave reviews for his U20 Six Nations performance.

Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler is selected after being unavailable for much of February and March, and having signed a professional deal with the Ospreys.

Wales U20 finished fourth in this season’s U20 Six Nations, with two wins and three losses, but proved their quality with an impressive win over England at Colwyn Bay. They lost 31-35 against South Africa U20 in a training game at The Vale Resort last week.

Their Junior World Championship campaign kicks off against Argentina on June 4th, before facing France on June 8th and Fiji on June 12th. All games kick-off at 17:00 BST and are expected to be shown on S4C.

Wales U20 Junior World Championship squad

Forwards: Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Tom Devine (Dragons), Dewi Lake (Ospreys – Capt), Will Griffiths (Dragons), Garin Lloyd (Ospreys), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Jac Price (Scarlets), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Jac Morgan (Scarlets/Aberavon), Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets)

Backs: Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons), Cai Evans (Ospreys), Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Deon Smith (Dragons), Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s