Additional players named for European quarter-final

Posted by

Cardiff Blues have nominated three additional players to join the European Challenge Cup squad, as permitted by the tournament rules once the knockout stages are entered.

Loosehead prop Rhys Carre, second row Ben Murphy and centre Harri Millard have been added to the initial 41-man squad named by Danny Wilson at the start of the season for the pool stages.

Harri Millard will join the Cardiff Blues European Challenge Cup squad


They saw Cardiff Blues win five out of six games, including ‘le double double’ over Lyon and Toulouse, to finish top of the pool and set up a quarter-final trip to Edinburgh on Saturday 31st September with a 17:45 kick-off at BT Murrayfield.

Wales U20s international Rhys Carre has impressed in the national age grade competitions and will provide cover for Gethin Jenkins, Rhys Gill, Brad Thyer and Corey Domachowski, while Harri Millard has spent part of the season touring with Wales 7s.

Ben Murphy on the other hand has been training with Cardiff Blues recently stepping up from the Merthyr RFC setup after impressing playing for the Cardiff Blues Premiership Select XV in the British and Irish Cup, and making three appearances in the Anglo-Welsh Cup.

The 22-year-old, who stands at 6ft5 and weighs almost 19 stone, will bolster the ranks of the second row that include Seb Davies, George Earle, Damien Welch and James Down.

Ben Murphy Leicester Tigers
Ben Murphy is included in the squad


Cardiff Blues Challenge Cup knockout round squad

Forwards: Brad Thyer, Corey Domachowski, Rhys Carre, Rhys Gill, Gethin Jenkins, Kristian Dacey, Matthew Rees, Ethan Lewis, Kirby Myhill, Fa’ao Filise, Anton Peikrishvili, Dillon Lewis, Kieron Assiratti, Seb Davies, George Earle, Ben Murphy, Damian Welch, James Down, Macauley Cook, Josh Turnbull, Josh Navidi, Ellis Jenkins, Olly Robinson, Sion Bennett, Nick Williams

Backs: Lloyd Williams, Tomos Williams, Lewis Jones, Gareth Anscombe, Steve Shingler, Jarrod Evans, Willis Halaholo, Rey Lee-Lo, Jack Roberts, Harri Millard, Garyn Smith, Owen Lane, Aled Summerhill, Tom James, Alex Cuthbert, Blaine Scully, Matthew Morgan, Dan Fish, Rhun Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s