Academy players get Premiership allocations

Posted by

Cardiff Blues academy have allocated their transitional and tracked players to the three Welsh Premiership teams ahead of the coming season.

A total of 22 players will be linked to either Cardiff, Pontypridd or Merthyr this year, with four players from the senior squad included in that figure as the Blues embark on the start of a development journey at a time of financial restriction.

Cardiff Blues pre-season
Cardiff Blues academy transition has been set up on the back of the financial woes

The strong front row youth prospects have been split between Cardiff and Ponty as Tom Mably, Rhys Carre and Ethan Lewis stay at the Arms Park while Corey Domachowski and Kieron Assiratti head up the A470 to Sardis Road. Tracked hooker Iestyn Harris will also appear for the Valleys side this season.

Of the loose forwards, Seb Davies, Joe Miles and James Botham will appear in blue and black, while Callum Bradbury, Alun Lawrence and Shane Lewis-Hughes will wear white and black.

Ethan Lewis will turn out for Cardiff RFC

In the backs we see the three young fly-halves at the club split between sides, as Ben Thomas is allocated to Cardiff, Pontypridd get Jarrod Evans and Ben Jones will turn out for reigning Premiership champions Merthyr.

Centre Harri Millard joins Jones at The Wern, while scrum-half Dane Blacker will turn out for Ponty again alongside centres Cameron Lewis and Garyn Smith, as well as winger Aled Summerhill.

Aled Summerhill Munster 2
Aled Summerhill may be seen at Sardis Road


Cardiff will welcome Owen Lane to their ranks once again, and fellow centre Daf Smith has also been allocated to the Arms Park but may well spend some time with the Wales 7s setup after appearing for them in the short-sided game’s European Grand Prix series over the summer.

Interestingly, Rhun Williams and Dillon Lewis have not been allocated to teams, seemingly confirming the desire of Danny Wilson to treat them as fully fledged first team players despite being in the academy’s transition squad.

Dillon Newport
Dillon Lewis has not been allocated a club


Cardiff Blues academy Premiership allocations

Cardiff RFC – Rhys Carre (loosehead), Tom Mably (loosehead), Ethan Lewis (hooker), Seb Davies (lock), Joe Miles (lock), Jim Botham (back row), Ben Thomas (fly-half), Owen Lane (centre), Daf Smith (centre)

Pontypridd RFC – Corey Domachowski (loosehead), Iestyn Harris (hooker), Kieron Assiratti (tighthead), Callum Bradbury (lock), Shane Lewis-Hughes (back row), Alun Lawrence (back row), Dane Blacker (scrum-half), Jarrod Evans (fly-half), Cameron Lewis (centre), Garyn Smith (centre), Aled Summerhill (winger)

Merthyr RFC – Ben Jones (fly-half), Harri Millard (centre)

Cardiff Blues Senior Academy Squad (3)




One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s